UMB, UMCP Announce the 2023 MPower Professors

Published in The Elm | November 20, 2023

The University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB) and the University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP) announced Nov. 16 that six professors, three from each university, have been chosen as MPower Professors. This award from the University of Maryland Strategic Partnership: MPowering the State (MPower) recognizes, incentivizes, and fosters faculty collaborations between the universities.

The six selected for this honor are working across disciplines to address the most complex challenges facing society today. These new MPower Professors are bridging research and scholarship between institutions to foster innovation that will impact people in Maryland, across the country, and around the world.

The 2023 MPower Professors from UMB are:

Lisa Berlin, PhD, MS

James Polli, PhD

Osamah Saeedi, MD, MS

The 2023 MPower Professors from UMCP are:

Wolfgang Losert, PhD

Jessica Magidson, PhD

Steven Prior, PhD, MA

You can learn about the professors in this letter from UMB President Bruce E. Jarrell, MD, FACS, and UMCP President Darryll J. Pines, PhD, MS.